GO RedHawks!
Miami Shares Academic Achievement Award

Miami's football team sing the Fight Song following its victory over Army

Miami's football team sing the Fight Song following its victory over Army
Football Home


Brandon Brooks Makes Big Impact

Lucy Ewbank Passes Away At Age of 105

Follow all of the college football action at CollegeSports.com

Email this to a friend


Nov. 29, 2011


WACO, TEX. -- Miami University and Boise State University will share the American Football Coaches Association's 2011 Academic Achievement Award, which is presented by the Touchdown Club of Memphis. Miami and Boise State and recorded a 100 percent graduation rate for members of its freshman football student-athlete class of 2004.

This is the first honor for Miami and Boise State and since the award's inception. The award will be presented at the AFCA President's Kickoff Luncheon on Monday, January 9 at the 2012 AFCA Convention in San Antonio.

"We thank the American Football Coaches Association for this prestigious recognition," said Brad Bates, Miami's Director of Athletics. "This award represents not only the academic performance of our football students but is symbolic of the culture Miami's faculty creates, the quality of students all our coaches recruit to Oxford and the cognitive inquiry by our students while they compete athletically at the highest level of the NCAA."

This year's award marks the fourth time the NCAA's Graduation Success Rate (GSR) formula has been used to select the winner. From 1981 to 2007, the award was presented based on a formula used by the College Football Association and AFCA. Since 2008, the criteria for the AFCA's Academic Achievement Award is based on the highest NCAA GSR, at least 15 students in the GSR Cohort, and a Federal Graduation Rate of 75 percent or better.

Forty-four other institutions will be recognized for graduating 75 percent or more of their football student-athletes. Fifteen of those institutions -- Air Force, Army, Boston College, Central Florida, Duke, Florida, Iowa, Miami (Fla.), Navy, Northern Illinois, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Penn State, Rice, Stanford -- achieved a rate of 90 percent or better. The remaining 29 institutions are: Arkansas State, Baylor, Bowling Green State, Cincinnati, Clemson, Colorado State, Fresno State, Illinois, LSU, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Memphis, Middle Tennessee State, North Carolina, Ohio, Rutgers, SMU, Syracuse, TCU, Texas Tech, Tulane, UCLA, Utah, Utah State, UTEP, Vanderbilt, Wake Forest, West Virginia and Western Kentucky.



The Academic Achievement Award was established by the College Football Association in 1981. The award recognized the CFA-member Football Bowl Subdivision institution with the highest graduation rate among members of its football team. When the CFA disbanded in 1997, the AFCA stepped in to present the award and conduct a graduation rate survey that encompassed all members of the FBS.

The GSR is based on a six-year graduation window for student-athletes which is a change from the five-year window used by the CFA and AFCA. The GSR was developed by the NCAA as part of its academic reform initiative to more accurately assess the academic success of student-athletes. The GSR holds institutions accountable for transfer students, unlike the federal graduation rate. The GSR also accounts for midyear enrollees. Under GSR calculation, institutions are not penalized for outgoing transfer students who leave in good academic standing. These outgoing transfers are passed to the receiving institution's GSR cohort. By counting incoming transfer students and midyear enrollees, the GSR increases the total number of student-athletes tracked for graduation by more than 37 percent.

Conference Breakdown of 2011 Winners and Honorable Mentions: Conference USA- 7, ACC- 6, Big 10- 4, Big East- 4, MAC- 4, Mountain West- 4, Independents- 3, Pac-12- 3, SEC- 3, Sun Belt- 3, WAC- 3, Big 12- 2.

Academic Achievement Award Winners Through the Years

1981: Duke*

1982: Notre Dame*

1983: Notre Dame*

1984: Duke & Notre Dame*

1985: Virginia*

1986: Virginia*

1987: Duke*

1988: Notre Dame*

1989: Kentucky*

1990: Duke*

1991: Notre Dame*

1992: Boston College & TCU*

1993: Duke*

1994: Duke*

1995: Boston College, Duke & Wake Forest*

1996: Boston College, Duke & Vanderbilt*

1997: Duke*

1998: Northwestern

1999: Duke

2000: Syracuse

2001: Notre Dame & Vanderbilt

2002: Northwestern

2003: Duke

2004: Boston College & Northwestern

2005: Duke & Northwestern

2006: SMU

2007: Northwestern & Notre Dame

2008: Vanderbilt

2009: Notre Dame & Miami (Fla.)

2010: Northwestern & Rice

2011: Miami (Ohio) and Boise State



Game Day Promotions
Miami IMG Sports Network
culture of champions
miami university
all-time varsity letterwinners
RedHawk Destination Guide
Visitors Guide