Men's Basketball Announces 2011-12 Schedule

Follow @MiamiRedHawks and @MiamiOH_Bball on Twitter

Aug. 19, 2011

OXFORD, Ohio—Fourteen home games highlight the 2011-12 Miami University men’s basketball schedule. The RedHawks open the campaign at home with local rival Dayton on Tuesday, Nov. 15 and close out the regular-season at home against Mid-American Conference foe Ohio at the beginning of March.

“We have 14 home games this season, so for the second straight year our players will be able to play in front of our home crowd several times, which is very exciting for me and our team,” said Miami Head Coach Charlie Coles. “To open and close our regular season on our home court with two of our long-time rivals in Dayton and Ohio is special. Both series have been heated rivalries over the years and are fitting ways to tip off and cap the regular season.”

Miami’s non-conference slate boasts seven teams that advanced to postseason play in 2010-11, including five NCAA Tournament teams from a season ago. After the season opener against the Flyers, a participant in the NIT last season, Miami travels a few miles down the road to battle another local rival when the RedHawks play at Xavier—a 2011 NCAA Tournament team—on Friday, Nov. 18.

The game with the Musketeers is the first of a five-game road stretch for the RedHawks that extends into December and includes games at Saginaw Valley (Nov. 21) and at Southeast Missouri State (Nov. 26), which is a return trip from Miami’s 2009 ESPN BracketBuster game. The Red and White clash with their third local rival on Tuesday, Nov. 29 when Miami travels to Cincinnati, a team that advanced to the NCAA third round. A game at Troy on Dec. 3 rounds out the RedHawks’ road stint.

Miami plays four of its next five games at home. On Saturday, Dec. 10, the RedHawks host Wright State, facing their fourth local rival. After a week off for final examinations, Miami returns to the hardwood hosting Belmont, an NCAA Tournament participant last season, on Saturday, Dec. 17. The RedHawks then entertain Evansville (CBI Quarterfinalist) on Tuesday, Dec. 20.

Two days later, the Red and White heads to Columbus to face Ohio State (NCAA Sweet 16) on Thursday, Dec. 22. Miami rounds out the month of December hosting William and Mary on Thursday, Dec. 29 and tips off the new year at Vanderbilt, an NCAA Tournament participant last season, on Monday, Jan. 2.

“Our non-conference schedule has a nice blend of strong teams that should help prepare us for the challenges of the Mid-American Conference,” remarked Coles. “Several of the teams on our non-conference schedule advanced to postseason play last year. We will be challenged early and often throughout the season, and I believe we have a group that is capable of meeting those challenges head-on.”

An exciting scheduling component this season is that nearly every single MAC game for the RedHawks—home and away—will be on a Wednesday or a Saturday, so fans will have little trouble figuring out what day the Red and White are playing.

A home game against defending MAC Tournament Champion Akron on Saturday, Jan. 7 tips off the RedHawks’ conference schedule. Miami hits the road to battle defending MAC Champion Kent State on Wednesday, Jan. 11, before a two-game home stretch against Buffalo (Saturday, Jan. 14) and Bowling Green (Wednesday, Jan. 18). Miami rounds out its first stretch against the MAC East Division at Ohio on Saturday, Jan. 21.

Toledo is the first West Division opponent for the RedHawks, who host the Rockets on Wednesday, Jan. 25. Miami plays at Western Michigan (Saturday, Jan. 28) before hosting Eastern Michigan on Wednesday, Feb. 1. A two-game road stint at Ball State (Saturday, Feb. 4) and at Northern Illinois (Wednesday, Feb. 8) is on tap for the RedHawks before rounding out their stretch against the West Division at home against Central Michigan on Saturday, Feb. 11.

Amidst its final stretch against the MAC East Division, Miami will play its ESPN BracketBuster game at home on Sunday, Feb. 19. Opponent and time will be announced in early February.

The RedHawks face their East Division opponents in the same order during the remainder of MAC play: at Akron (Wednesday, Feb. 15), home with Kent State (Tuesday, Feb. 21), at Buffalo (Saturday, Feb. 25), at Bowling Green (Wednesday, Feb. 29) and home with Ohio (either Friday, March 2 or Saturday, March 3).

Miami also will host an exhibition game against California (Pa.) on Monday, Oct. 31.

The RedHawks are coming off the program's 25th postseason berth with a CBI appearance in 2010-11 and return nine letterwinners, including four starters, from a season ago. Miami also returns its top scorer, rebounder and assist man in First-Team All-MAC selection Julian Mavunga.

Season tickets for the RedHawks’ 14-game home slate can be ordered today through the Miami University Athletic Ticket Office by calling 513-529-4295. Renewals for season ticket holders will be sent out by Wednesday, Aug. 31. Fans should note for their convenience that the sections of Millett Hall have been renumbered. The sections are numbered in sequential order beginning with Section 1 in the Northwest corner of the lower bowl and running through Section 25 in the Northeast corner.

Miami University Men’s Basketball 2011-12 Season Ticket Prices:
Youth Reserved (Under 18): $120
Miami University Faculty and Staff: $160
Senior Citizen/Young Alumni: $175
Adult Reserved: $195
Courtside Seating: $350
     *Available with a specified Red & White Club level of giving