Leaderboard -- OfficeMax
Leaderboard - PNC
Leaderboard -- Kroger
Leaderboard - Folletts
Cincy Bell
Leaderboard - adidas
Scroll Button -- Vivid
spacer   My Account for spacer

OXFORD, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced the results of its preseason women's basketball poll on Wednesday. The Miami RedHawks were picked to win the MAC East Division. Seniors Courtney Osborn and Kirsten Olowinski were each selected as members of the Preseason All-MAC East Division Team. The poll members consisted of MAC coaches, sports information directors and members of the media.

The RedHawks received 16 first-place votes to top the East Division poll. Bowling Green finished second with 13 first-place votes. Akron received the final first-place vote and was picked to finish third. Ohio, Kent State and Ball State round out the poll.

Toledo was picked to win the West Division, receiving 24 first place votes. Central Michigan was picked second and received the other six first-place votes. Eastern Michigan, Northern Illinois, Western Michigan and Ball State round out that side of the poll.

Osborn, who was named First-Team All-MAC last season after earning third team honors the previous two seasons, has recorded 1575 points for her career. She is only 405 points shy of breaking the Miami all-time record for points scored, currently held by Amanda Jackson (2003-08) at 1979. It is one of the eight different RedHawk records she might break during the 2012-13 season.

Olowinski was a Third-Team All-MAC selection last season. She was third on the team with an average of 11.2 points per game and led the team with a 9.9 rebounds per game average. Olowinski enters the 2012-13 season with 818 career rebounds. She is only 106 rebounds shy of breaking the all-time career record of Hall-of-Famer Monica Niemann (1991-95), who finished with 923. Olowinski also has 924 career points, needing 76 more to become the 21st member of Miami's 1,000-point club.

Toledo was the pick of 16 voters to win the MAC Tournament Championship. Central Michigan received 12 votes, while Bowling Green received the other two.

Miami will host Tiffin on Sunday at 2 p.m. in its only exhibition contest of the season. Admission is free for all fans, and a broadcast of the game will be available on Miami All-Access.

MAC East Division Predicted Order of Finish

1. Miami (16 First Place Votes)

2. Bowling Green (13)

3. Akron (1)

4. Ohio

5. Kent State

6. Buffalo

East Division Preseason All-MAC Team

Rachael Tecca, Akron

Alexis Rogers, Bowling Green

Courtney Osborn, Miami

Chrissy Steffan, Bowling Green

Kirsten Olowinski, Miami

MAC West Division Predicted Order of Finish

1. Toledo (24 First Place Votes)

2. Central Michigan (6)

3. Eastern Michigan

4. Northern Illinois

5. Western Michigan

6. Ball State

West Division Preseason All-MAC Team

Crystal Bradford, Central Michigan

Natachia Watkins, Eastern Michigan

Naama Shafir, Toledo

Andola Dortch, Toledo

Yolanda Richardson, Toledo

MAC Women's Basketball Tournament Champion: Toledo (16), Central Michigan (12), Bowling Green (2)

Returning Customers
Donations, Tickets, Miami All-Access users or Returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.