BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Miami University field hockey team played its only exhibition game of the 2012 season on Sunday in Bloomington. Playing a unique format that featured two 30-minute periods followed by a 20-minute period, the RedHawks fell to Indiana by a total score of 4-2.

The exhibition gave Miami, which features 12 newcomers, a chance to experiment with several different lineups. A total of 20 players saw action, including both goalkeepers.

Indiana did the most damage in the first 30 minute period, striking three times. The Hoosiers struck in the eighth, 18th and 22nd minutes to establish a 3-0 lead at the first break. Despite getting three penalty corner attempts, Miami was not able to get on the board during the frame.

The RedHawks were much better during the second period, playing to a 0-0 tie. Midway through the frame, starting goalkeeper Sarah Mueller was replaced by Christina Heston, to allow Heston to record some playing time. Mueller finished her day with two saves.

The Miami offense got going during the third period, which was limited to 20 minutes. Sophomore Valentina Neira got the 'Hawks on the board in the 64th minute when she dribbled into the circle, wound up and took a shot that found the back of the net. Indiana answered only 14 seconds later with a goal of its own on a deflection. Undeterred, Miami struck back in the 71st minute. A shot by Ali Froede was saved by the Hoosier goalkeeper, but the ball bounced right back to Alyssa Logan. The junior forward would shoot the ball into the unprotected net to complete the RedHawks scoring for the day.

For the game Indiana outshot Miami, 17-10. Neira led the Red and White with three shots, including two on goal. The Hoosiers finished with a 5-4 penalty corner advantage.

Miami begins the 2012 regular season next weekend when it takes part in the Sherrill Brakmeier Classic in Louisville, Ky. On Saturday, Aug. 24, the RedHawks will take on Northwestern at noon. Later that day, the host Louisville will face Northeastern. On Sunday, Aug. 25, the consolation game will take place at 11 a.m. and the championship game at 1 p.m.