OXFORD, Ohio -- Miami University President David Hodge has announced the members of the search committee who will identify and recruit an individual for the position of director of intercollegiate athletics. Provost Bobby Gempesaw will serve as chair.

The process will be assisted by search consultants to be identified within the next few days. A position announcement will be developed through discussions with the search committee and campus constituency interviews conducted by the search consultants. Additional staff support will be coordinated by the president's office through Ted Pickerill, executive assistant to the president.

"Athletics are an important part of the college experience and, to many, they form a first and lasting impression of the university, making the success and reputation of our athletic program an integral part of Miami's identity," Hodge said in a letter to the committee. "I am grateful to the committee members for their service in finding the right candidate to lead intercollegiate athletics."

Search Committee

Chair - Provost Bobby Gempesaw

Coach - Enrico Blasi, head coach, ice hockey

Coach - Anca Dumitrescu, head coach, tennis

ICA/Advisory Council - Jennie Gilbert, associate athletic director, NCAA compliance

ICA/Advisory Council - Darrell Hallberg, assistant athletic director, equipment services

FAR (Faculty Athletics Representative) - Susan Lipnickey, associate professor, kinesiology and health

Athletic Policy Committee - Phil Russo, committee chair and professor, political science

Sports Leadership and Management - Melissa Chase, associate professor, kinesiology and health

University Administration - Ron Scott, associate vice president for institutional diversity

Advancement - Jude Killy - associate athletic director, external affairs

Finance/Budgeting - David Ellis, associate vice president for budgeting and analysis

Sports Medicine - Steven Dailey, M.D., director, sports medicine

Alumna - Andrea Simpson, field hockey

Alumnus - Rick Amos, football

Student Athlete, RedHawk Council - Lisa Treadway (Miami '13), volleyball

Student Athlete, RedHawk Council - Austin Brown (Miami '13), football

Administrative Support (ex-officio) - Ted Pickerill, office of the president