March 30, 2012

OXFORD, Ohio--Miami University's men's basketball team announced its annual award winners with senior forward Julian Mavunga (Indianapolis, Ind./Brownsburg) capturing four team awards. The RedHawks will receive their awards at a team function in lieu of a public banquet.

Mavunga was tabbed Miami's William Rohr Most Valuable Player for the second straight year. Mavunga also earned the Wayne Embry Rebound Award for the second consecutive year and earned the team's Charlie Coles Captain Award and Dr. Terry Hunt Free Throw Award this season. Mavunga earned All-MAC honors for the third time in his career with his second-straight placement on the All-MAC First Team. He also was an NABC All-District 14 First Team selection.

Mavunga was the only player in the MAC this season to rank among the top 15 in conference-only games in points (14.6, 7th), rebounds (8.2, 2nd) and assists (4.2, 8th). For the season, he averaged 16.4 ppg and 9.0 rpg, with his rebounding average leading the MAC and his scoring average tied for first. Mavunga is just the fourth player in program history to lead the MAC in both scoring and rebounding in a season, joining elite company with Dick Walls, Wayne Embry and Ron Harper.

He also led the MAC in defensive rebounds, averaging 6.8 per game on the season. In all games and MAC-only games, Mavunga led the conference for the second straight year in minutes played (36.9). He also ranked among MAC statistical leaders in all games in assists, assist/turnover ratio, offensive rebounds, and free throw percentage. In MAC-only games, he also ranked among league leaders in defensive rebounds, offensive rebounds, assist/turnover ratio and free throw percentage. Mavunga's 168 made free throws this season rank fourth on the RedHawks' single-season list.

Junior center Vince Legarza (San Francisco, Calif./St. Ignatius Prep) earned the Charlie Coles Captain Award and also was named the Marshall North Award winner, which is presented to the player who best exemplifies the virtue of loyalty--to the University, team and coaches--and whose personal sacrifice of time, effort and energy contribute materially to the advancement of the record of the team.

Freshman guard Brian Sullivan (Upper Arlington, Ohio/Upper Arlington) earned the Arthur and Olga Adkins Newcomer of the Year Award. Sullivan became the first Miami player since 2003 to be named to the MAC All-Freshman Team. He knocked down 79 triples this season, which ranked second on Miami's single-season charts, while his 44.9 shooting percentage from long range ranked eighth among Miami's single-season leaders. Sullivan became the first player in program history to lead the MAC in 3-point field goal percentage in a season with his long-range shooting percentage ranking eighth nationally.

Sullivan drained eight treys at Vanderbilt on Jan. 2, which tied for third on Miami's single-game list and were the most by a MAC player this season and the most by a freshman in Miami history. He also nailed six triples at Western Michigan on Jan. 28, which tied for 10th on Miami's single-game list. Sullivan led all MAC freshmen in scoring in conference play, averaging 11.9 ppg to rank 17th among all MAC statistical leaders, while leading all players in made 3-pointers per game (2.8) and ranking third in 3-point field goal percentage (.433) through 16 MAC games. On the season, he ranked among MAC leaders in scoring (10.3 ppg, 27th) and made 3-pointers (2.6, 2nd).

For the second straight year, sophomore guard Quinten Rollins (Wilmington, Ohio/Wilmington) was named the Richard Shrider Defensive Player of the Year. Rollins became the first freshmen to capture the award last season and continued his strong defensive play for the RedHawks in 2011-12. Noted as Miami's top defensive player, Rollins led the team in steals, ranking sixth among MAC statistical leaders by averaging 1.6 spg. He also tallied five blocked shots this season. Rollins played in all 30 games, making 28 starts.

Sophomore forward Jon Harris (Twinsburg, Ohio/Twinsburg) earned the Darrell Hedric Most Improved Player honor. Harris ranked third on the team in scoring, averaging 8.5 ppg, and second on the team in rebounding, averaging 4.1 rpg. He played in all 30 games, making 25 starts, and ranked fourth among MAC leaders in minutes played in all games and also MAC-only games. He also ranked among MAC leaders in 3-point field-goal percentage and 3-pointers in all games (.374, 13th; 1.9, 7th) and in MAC-only games (.438, 2nd; 2.2, 4th).

The Holdie Wilson Spirit Award was given to senior forward Adam Thomas (Springboro, Ohio/Springboro). The award is given to a player who best demonstrates an unconditionally positive spirit. Thomas played in 26 games for the RedHawks during his senior season and earned five starts. Thomas spurred Miami to an overtime win against Eastern Michigan and emerged as a solid post presence for the RedHawks this season.

Sophomore center Drew McGhee (North Ridgeville, Ohio/North Ridgeville) earned the Jamie Mercurio Award, which is given to the player who exemplifies courage, determination and perseverance. McGhee played in 29 of the RedHawks' 30 games and made 20 starts.

Freshman center Jared Tadlock (Conifer, Colo./James Hunt High School, N.C.) was tabbed the Randy Gunlock Scholar-Athlete Award winner. Tadlock owns a 3.52 GPA and is undecided on a major.

A recap of the award winners:
Charlie Coles Captain Awards: Julian Mavunga / Julian Mavunga
Randy Gunlock Scholar-Athlete Award: Julian Mavunga
Holdie Wilson Award (spirit): Julian Mavunga