May 18, 2012


Cleveland, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference inducted Miami University's legendary WAYNE EMBRY into its MAC Hall of Fame Thursday night, May 17 at the MAC Honor's Dinner at the Cleveland Renaissance Hotel.

Joining EMBRY as members of the 2012 class were Ben Curtis (Kent State, men's golf), Herb Deromedi (Central Michigan, football), Karen Fitzpatrick (Ball State, field hockey), Bob Nichols (Toledo, men's basketball) and Mike Schmidt (Ohio, baseball). Curtis and Schmidt were unable to attend the ceremony.

The MAC Hall of Fame was approved by the MAC Council of Presidents in 1987. The charter class was inducted in 1988 and subsequent classes were added in 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1994. After six induction classes, the MAC Hall of Fame maintained 52 members until it was reinstated this May. This year's class brings the number of MAC Hall of Fame inductees to 58 individuals from seven classes.

Embry had record-setting accomplishments as a player at Miami University, was an 11-year veteran of the NBA, a pioneer for his race as the NBA's first African-American general manager and team president, and was a member of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

He was a three-year letter winner in basketball (1955-56; 1956-57; 1957-58) at Miami up to his graduation with a Bachelor of Science in 1958. Embry currently ranks No. 12 on Miami's all-time scoring list with 1,401 points and No. 2 on the all-time rebounding list with 1,117. He holds both Miami records for most rebounds in a game (34) and season (488). Embry is one of only 14 players in MAC history to total more than 1,000 career points and rebounds. Miami University retired jersey number 23 in his honor.

Embry also received the highest honor a basketball player/coach/contributor can achieve with his induction into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass., as a contributor.

Other Miamians who are members of the MAC Hall of Fame include Ara Parseghian (football player/coach, inducted in 1988), John Pont (football player/coach, 1992), George Rider (track & field coach, 1989), Bill Rohr (Miami basketball coach, 1994), Bo Schembechler (Miami football player/coach, 1991) and Dick Shrider (basketball coach, 1990).