May 8, 2012

CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2012 postseason awards on Tuesday. For the second consecutive season, senior Jessica Simpson has been named the MAC Pitcher of the Year. She also was a repeat member of the All-MAC First Team. Sophomore Kayla Ledbetter was named to the All-MAC Second Team as a catcher, while freshman Shanyn McIntyre made the Second Team as an outfielder. McIntyre also was named to the All-Freshmen Team. Senior outfielder Jordan McElroy was also honored with the prestigious Nan Harvey Sportsmanship Award.

Simpson has had an incredible senior season in MAC play. In addition to becoming the conference's all-time leader in career victories, she finished 15-2 with a 1.47 ERA in 21 league appearances (14 starts). She threw 13 complete games and had a league-leading seven shutouts. Her 140 strikeouts also led the league. Simpson threw a no-hitter vs. Buffalo on Apr. 27 and allowed four-or-less hits in nine of her starts. She struck out eight-or-more hitters in 10 appearances, including a high of 13 in the no-hitter vs. Buffalo. Allowing only 88 hits and 19 walks during MAC play, she has a WHIP of 0.94 to go along with a batting average against of .207 in 114.1 innings pitched. Simpson became the first Miami pitcher in school history to win this award, and is only the third pitcher in MAC history to win the award multiple times.

This is the first All-MAC honor for Ledbetter. She appeared in 21 games as Miami's catcher during MAC play, starting 20. She hit .333, had three home runs and drove in 14 RBI. She had key three-run home runs in victories over Eastern Michigan on Apr. 21 and at Kent State on Apr. 28. She drove in runs in 10 different conference games and had a slugging percentage of .556. Ledbetter also was spectacular defensively. She made only one error in 21 games for a .994 fielding percentage. MAC opponents only attempted to steal on her six times the entire season. She threw out two of those runners and picked off another three.

McIntyre was the RedHawks' leading hitter as a freshman. She batted .381 with two home runs and nine RBI in league play. She started 20 games, mostly in left field, but showed versatility by playing at third base, first base and designated player at various points during the season. She had a slugging percentage of .524 and an on-base percentage of .474. She scored a team-leading 18 runs and was second with 12 walks. McIntyre's best game came on Apr. 15 in the second game of the doubleheader vs. Ball State. She finished 3-for-3 with two RBI and three runs scored. She has recorded multiple hits in five conference games this season and has driven in nine RBI.

The Nan Harvey Sportsmanship Award represents someone that the MAC coaches see as an ideal teammate. It focuses on someone who is seen as a leader both on their team and in their community. McElroy was voted as the team captain by her peers and was known for how much effort she put into making every team member feel valued and appreciated. She spent many hours volunteering the past two seasons assisting the Talawanda High School Athletic Department in developing a better experience for their student-athletes. She also volunteered with "Swoop's Stoop," a community service project started by Cody Reichard of the Miami hockey program to comfort and support children with life-changing illnesses. Lastly, McElroy was the team leader for the Bring Joy to a Child Program where the softball team adopted a family and helped give supplies and gifts for the children in the family during the holiday season. This is the second time in three years a Miami player has won the Nan Harvey Award. Alicia Hogl took home the honor in 2010.

All of the awards are voted on by the head coaches of the 12 member schools and are based only on MAC statistics.

2012 MAC Awards

Freshman of the Year -- Jamie Kertes,  Bowling Green

Pitcher of the Year - Jessica Simpson, Miami

Player of the Year - Jennifer Gilbert, Ball State

Nan Harvey Award -- Jordan McElroy, Miami

Coach of the Year - Shannon Salsburg, Bowling Green

First Team All-MAC
Catcher - Alexis Curtiss, Buffalo
Catcher - Lauren Gellerman, Ohio
1B - Alissa Birkhimer, Akron
2B - Brooke Gates, Toledo
SS - Hannah Fulk, Bowling Green
SS - Alison Mercado, Ball State
3B - Jessica Richards, Eastern Michigan
Outfield - Jennifer Gilbert, Ball State
Outfield- Nicole Gremillion, Northern Illinois
Outfield - Lindasy Tobias, Toledo
Outfield -  Danielle Parish, Northern Illinois
Pitcher - Jessica Simpson, Miami
Pitcher -- Jamie Kertes, Bowling Green
Utility Non-Pitcher - Amanda Montalto, Ball State
Utility Pitcher- Meredith Whitney, Western Michigan

Second Team All-MAC
Catcher - Kayla Ledbetter, Miami
1B - Tara Buchanan, Western Michigan
1B - Molly Coldren, Central Michigan
1B - Raven King, Ohio
2B - Sammi Gallardo, Buffalo
SS- Alexis Joseph, Ohio
3B - Audrey Bickel, Ball State
Utility Non-Pitcher - Jennifer Barnett, Northern Illinois
Pitcher - Lauren McClary, Ohio
Pitcher - Kara Dornbos, Central Michigan
Pitcher - Emma Johnson, Kent State
Outfield - Jillian VanWagnen, Ohio
Outfield - Shanyn McIntyre, Miami
Outfield - Hanne Stuedemann, Ball State
Outfield - Amanda Carpenter, Ball State

All-Freshman Team
Keelia Nester, Akron
Hanne Stuedemann, Ball State
Paris Imholz, Bowling Green
Jamie Kertes, Bowling Green
Alexis Curtiss, Buffalo
Chelsea DeLamielluere, Central Michigan
Emma Johnson, Kent State
Dani Ramos, Kent State
Shanyn McIntyre, Miami
Lauren McClary, Ohio