BOWLING GREEN, Ohio – Junior Jess Hoover led the way for the Miami University women’s cross country team for a second straight week, finishing first for the RedHawks and third overall at the Mel Brodt Collegiate Invitational hosted by Bowling Green State University. The race began at 7:10 p.m. Friday evening and there was no team scoring.

The RedHawks ran well against Mid-American Conference (MAC) competitors Bowling Green, Toledo, Ball State and Eastern Michigan on Forrest Creason Golf Course, which will serve as host for the 2013 MAC Championship Nov. 2.

Similar to her performance at last weekend’s Miami Invitational, Hoover had a fast start to the 5K, pacing the front-runners from Eastern Michigan, Toledo and Youngstown State en route to finishing third in 17:11.91.

While Hoover had a strong kick to the start of the race, the rest of the RedHawks didn’t manage to go out quite as fast.

“The front of the pack went out really fast and Jess went out with them, which was great,” head coach Kelly Phillips said. “Anna (Lamb) and Melissa (Girgis) didn’t get out with that front pack, which I think they paid for because they couldn’t run them down in the end. It was a good learning experience.”

Junior Anna Lamb finished behind three Toledo runners after she was unable to catch up to the front of the field, taking seventh overall in 17:37.78. Junior Melissa Girgis followed, finishing third for Miami and ninth overall in 17:40.98.

Sophomore Laura Bess was Miami’s fourth runner to cross the finish line, taking 13th overall in 17:54.99. Fellow sophomore Mattie Moncayo rounded out what would have been Miami’s scoring five, taking 16th overall in 17:58.33.

Phillips says tonight’s race was a good test for what is to come in November, and is overall satisfied with her team’s performance at their second meet of the 2013 season.

“It was a good, solid day,” Phillips said. “One more step closer to MACs.”

The RedHawks return to action next Friday, Sept. 20 for the Wake Forest Invitational in Winston Salem, N.C. The race will begin at 4 p.m. ET.