OXFORD, Ohio - Miami University junior midfielder Katy Dolesh has been honored for her work on the field and in the classroom as she was named to the 2012 Capital One Women's Soccer Academic All-District Second Team for District V, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced Friday.

Dolesh (Chardon, Ohio) becomes the seventh RedHawk to earn Academic All-District accolades in program history while Miami has now placed a player on an Academic All-District team each of the last four years. Classmate Kayla Zakrzewski earned third-team honors last year while Brooke Livingston in 2010 was the last to land on the second team.

Dolesh boasts a 3.45 grade-point average while majoring in health studies. She also has a 2-D media studies minor.

On Thursday, Dolesh was named First-Team All-MAC for the second straight year while she has earned All-MAC honors all three years at Miami. The high-flying midfielder has started all 21 games this season, totaling 23 points on eight goals and seven assists, ranking in the top five in the MAC in each statistical category.

Dolesh led Miami with 16 points in league play, scoring six of her eight goals, while the 16 points were the most of any player in conference action. Dolesh recorded a goal and an assist three times during the season, including in wins at Kent State and over Bowling Green, and scored the game-winner Oct. 14 at Toledo.

To be eligible for the Capital One Academic All-District teams, student-athletes must have at least a 3.30 cumulative GPA, have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games and must have completed a full year at the academic institution. Dolesh was one of just 22 women's soccer players to be named Academic All-District in District V, which includes Division I schools from the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and Michigan. Voting is conducted by members of CoSIDA.

Dolesh and the RedHawks play for a MAC Tournament championship on Sunday at 1 p.m. at Miami Soccer Field. The host and top-seeded RedHawks battle No. 2 seed Central Michigan for the title.