INDIANAPOLIS – Miami University and U.S. Bank Arena have been tabbed as hosts for the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Regional in Cincinnati, the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced on Wednesday. The regional runs from March 25-27.

“Miami is delighted to be selected to host the 2016 NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Midwest Regional,” Miami Associate Athletic Director for Game Operations Keanah Smith said. “In conjunction with U.S. Bank Arena and the Greater Cincinnati Sports Corporation we would like to thank the Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee for this prestigious honor and plan on providing the student-athletes, coaches and fans a first-class experience in Cincinnati.”

The 2016 regional will mark the second time in three seasons that Miami will serve as a regional host in Cincinnati. The RedHawks are the host for the 2014 Midwest Regional at U.S. Bank Arena on March 28-29. The arena served as host site for the 1996 Frozen Four, when it was called Riverfront Coliseum.

Home of the ECHL’s Cincinnati Cyclones, U.S. Bank Arena has also seen multiple NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament regionals and the 1997 NCAA Women's Basketball Final Four take place under its roof. The arena has a capacity of 15,300.

"We are thrilled to once again have the honor of hosting the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Midwest Regional” said U.S. Bank Arena Vice President & General Manager Kristin Ropp. “We are excited to host this year’s Midwest Regional at the end of March. To be granted games in 2016 is a testament to the hard work of our partners, Miami University and the Greater Cincinnati Sports Corp. We look forward to bringing championship collegiate athletics back to Cincinnati in the coming years.”

Miami University and U.S. Bank Arena are hosting the regional in conjunction with the Greater Cincinnati Sports Corp.

"It is an honor to be hosting another regional," Miami head hockey coach Enrico Blasi said. “Fans will get to see some of the best programs in the country lay it all on the line to play for a national championship. Hosting this prestigious event once is special, but doing it twice in three years speaks volumes about the great tradition Cincinnati offers as a host."

The other three regional sites are the DCU Center in Worchester, Mass., the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn. and the Times Union Center in Albany, N.Y. The 2016 Frozen Four will be held at Tampa Bay Times Forum in Tampa Bay, Fla.

Miami has played in the last eight NCAA Tournaments and made 11 overall NCAA Tournament appearances in school history. The RedHawks have played in two Frozen Fours, finishing national runner up in the 2009 season.

The RedHawks are idle from regular season play until traveling to Western Michigan on Jan. 10, 2014. Miami does close out the calendar with a New Year’s Eve exhibition against the USA Under-18 National Team at Steve Cady Arena.