FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. - Miami University senior defenseman Steven Spinell was selected to the CCHA Team of Scholar-Athletes, the Central Collegiate Hockey Association announced Tuesday, as he is Miami's representative on the 11-man squad. He is now eligible to win CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year, which will be chosen from the 11 candidates and announced at the 2013 CCHA Awards on Friday, March 22.

Spinell (Vernon Hills, Ill.) carries a 3.26 grade-point average while majoring in finance in Miami's Farmer School of Business. He is on schedule to graduate in May. The team captain was also named one of 10 finalists for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award on Feb. 13.

In addition to being a leader in the classroom and on the ice, Spinell has totaled 10 points, including nine assists, while playing in 34 games this year, missing just two to injury. He notched his lone goal of the year Feb. 15 on the power play in a win over Notre Dame, his fourth career goal. His 10 points are second among Miami's defensemen while he is second on the team with 60 blocked shots. He also boasts a +13 rating, which ties for second on the squad, while his 48 penalty minutes are third among RedHawks. Spinell was tabbed to the Three Rivers Classic All-Tournament Team earlier this season, as well.

Each of the 11 CCHA-member schools designated its scholar-athlete of the year, which serves as the school's nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The nominee is selected by the institution's faculty athletic representative (FAR), in consultation with the head coach. Nominees must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to be eligible for the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which is selected by the 11 FARs. Voting is based on a system that awards five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.

Miami boasts the 2010-11 CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year in Carter Camper ('11), who became the first RedHawk to take home the award since the league switched to the current Scholar-Athlete of the Year format in 2004-05. Prior to that, the CCHA selected an All-Academic Team.

All 11 Scholar-Athlete of the Year nominees will be honored at the annual CCHA Awards March 22 at the Fox Theatre in Detroit, Mich. The event is open to the public and tickets are $25. The awards presentation begins at 7:35 p.m. with a social hour preceding the awards. Tickets may be purchased at the door or by calling the CCHA office at (248) 888-0600.

CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year nominees
Adam Henderson, Sr., F, Alaska
Ryan Carpenter, So., F, Bowling Green
Jason Binkley, So., D, Ferris State
Kevin Kapalka, Jr., G, Lake Superior State
Steven Spinell, Sr., D, Miami
Luke Moffatt, Jr., F, Michigan
Greg Wolfe, Jr., F, Michigan State
Kory Kaunisto, Sr., F, Northern Michigan
Peter Schneider, So., F, Notre Dame
Max McCormick, So., F, Ohio State
Chase Balisy, Jr., F, Western Michigan