April 8, 2011

SAINT PAUL, Minn. - The Hobey Baker Award, which Miami senior Andy Miele is one of three finalists for, will be presented live Friday night (tonight) at 7 p.m. ET on ESPNU from the Xcel Energy Center as part of the NCAA's Frozen Four weekend. The Hobey Baker Award is given annually to the top collegiate hockey player in the country. The ceremony and telecast will last a half hour (from 7 to 7:30 p.m.).

Joining Miele in the Hobey Hat Trick is Boston College junior forward Cam Atkinson and North Dakota senior forward Matt Frattin. Miele is just the second RedHawk, along with Ryan Jones in 2008, to be named to the Hobey Hat Trick while the Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich., native looks to become the first RedHawk to ever win the award.

The Top Ten finalists, which Miami senior Carter Camper was also a part of, were narrowed to the Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists on March 30 as determined by the 23-member selection committee, which consists of coaches, media, NHL scouts and officials, and a second round of fan balloting, to designate not only the final three, but the Hobey Baker Award winner.

Criteria for the prestigious award includes: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.