BUFFALO, N.Y.—Miami’s men’s swimming and diving team finished fourth at the Mid-American Conference Championships Saturday, concluding the three day competition hosted at the Alumni Arena Natatorium in Buffalo, N.Y. by the University at Buffalo.  

Missouri State won the championship with 833 total points. It was their first MAC Championship in the program’s history. Eastern Michigan took second-place with 682 points, while Buffalo finished third with 657 points. Miami finished with 527 points compiled over the three-day event for fourth. Southern Illinois (383 points), Ball State (160 points) and Evansville (153 points) rounded out the school rankings.

Saturday’s competition began, for the RedHawks, with senior Sean Minderlein taking eleventh with a time of 15:52.81 in the 1650 freestyle. Sophomore Christopher Dieter finished twelfth (15:55.61).

Sophomore Davis Staley and sophomore Jacob Prodoehl were fourth and fifth in the 200 backstroke, respectively. Staley swam a time of 1:46.54 and Prodoehl swam a time of 1:46.76. Sophomore Heshan Unamboowe was tenth (1:49.23) and senior Sam Flessner was thirteenth (1:50.27). Sophomore Sean Neri took fourteenth (1:50.73).

In the 100 freestyle, junior Joe Baumgartner swam a time of 44.24 for fourth-place. Freshman Jack Strauss finished with a time of 44.74, which was good enough for a ninth-place finish. Senior Dan Nemeth took eleventh with a time of 45.34. Freshman Lucas Brock was twelfth (45.38).

Sophomore Evan Bader earned a fourth-place finish in the 200 breaststroke. He swam a time of 1:59.19. Freshman Matthew Rigali was eleventh (2:03.49). Freshman Steve Russo took sixteenth (2:07.93).

Freshman Grant Stafford also managed a fourth-place finish in the 200 butterfly for the RedHawks. He finished with a time of 1:49.30. Staley won the “B” final earning a ninth-place overall finish in the process (1:50.10). Senior Michael Cavanaugh swam a time of 1:51.81, which earned him a fifteenth-place finish.

Sophomore Cole Fryman earned a seventh-place finish in the three-meter dive with 293.50 points.

Concluding the meet, Miami took third in the 400 freestyle relay. Baumgartner, Strauss, Brock and Nemeth swam in the event for the RedHawks, earning a time of 2:58.82.

The NCAA Zone C Diving Regional Meet begins Thursday, Mar. 13 in Columbus, Ohio. The NCAA Division I Men’s Championship will take place in Minneapolis, Minn. From Thursday, Mar. 27 through Saturday, Mar. 29.


Awards – 2014 All-MAC Teams and Specialty Awards

Most Outstanding Swimmer: Uvis Kalnins, Missouri State

Swimming Coach of the Year: Dave Collins, Missouri State

Most Outstanding Diver: Garrett Nevels, Missouri State

Diving Coach of the Year: Buck Smith, Eastern Michigan


All-MAC First Team 

Uvis Kalnins, Missouri State

Paul Le, Missouri State

Mike Dugan, Buffalo

Till Pallmann, SIU

Dan O’Connor, Buffalo

Miguel Davila, Missouri State

Caleb Schuermann, Missouri State

Brian Moore, EMU

Andrew Henry, EMU

Mike Fisher, EMU

Vitalii Baryshok, Missouri State

Cole Bateman, EMU

Krzysztof Gilski, EMU

Garrett Nevels, Missouri State

Alexander Chan, EMU


All-MAC Second Team

Scott Huang, Buffalo

Matt Wilson, Missouri State

Dusan Vukobrat, SIU

Davis Staley, Miami

Calvin Kolar, SIU

Eric Culver, Buffalo

Erik Gissen, EMU

Joe Baumgartner, Miami

Billy Patrum, Buffalo

Aaron Dennis, Missouri State

Isaac Springer, Missouri State

Jack Snow, Missouri State

Jacob Prodoehl, Miami

Lucas Brock, Miami

Charles Barry, Buffalo

Yuri Garanito, Missouri State

Kegan Skelton, SIU

Evan Bader, Miami