OXFORD, Ohio – A trio of Miami University swimmers—MICHAEL CAVANAUGH (Bowling Green), IAN JOYCE (Hampden, MA) and ALEX REINHARDT (Littleton, CO)—are among 18 Mid-American Conference men's swimmers and divers named to the 2013 First Team Academic All-MAC Team.

Cavanaugh, a junior, carries a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 in philosophy. Joyce, a senior, majors in journalism and has a 3.27 GPA. Reinhardt, a senior, has a 3.36 GPA and majors in supply chain management.

Reinhardt and Cavanaugh also were both First Team Academic honorees in 2012.

Winning honorable mention Academic All-MAC kudos were junior MAX CAIN (Louisville, KY), junior SAM CROCKETT (Louisville, KY), junior SAM FLESSNER (Springfield, IL), sophomore MICHAEL HEAVILON (Muncie, IN), junior WILL OLSON (Hopkinton, MA), and junior JONATHAN PROFITT (Wyoming, OH).  

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season are only considered.


2013 Men's Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team (18 Members)

Drew Tharp, Ball State

Eric Forrester, Buffalo

John Nord, Buffalo

Tom Coates, Eastern Michigan

Gus Everson, Eastern Michigan

Oded Ivry, Eastern Michigan

Dakoda Johnson, Eastern Michigan

Brian Moore, Eastern Michigan

Andrew Saunders, Eastern Michigan

Kyle Tiemann, Evansville

Michael Cavanaugh, Miami

Ian Joyce, Miami

Alex Reinhardt, Miami

Chris Carpenter, Missouri State

Isaac McKnight, Missouri State

Matthew Wilson, Missouri State

Calvin Kolar, Southern Illinois

Kegan Skelton, Southern Illinois 


2013 Honorable Mention Academic All-MAC

Andy Lamb, Ball State

Michael Weber, Ball State

Travis Bohn, Buffalo

Paul Garman, Buffalo

Tyler Capan, Eastern Michigan

Frankie DeMaria Jr., Eastern Michigan

Ricky Linder, Eastern Michigan

Michael Kinross, Eastern Michigan

Aaron Lawson, Eastern Michigan

Sage Stephens, Eastern Michigan

Mallet Reid, Evansville

Sam Flessner, Miami

Maxwell Cain, Miami

Sam Crockett, Miami

Michael Heavilon, Miami

Will Olson, Miami

Jonathan Profitt, Miami

Jared Roberts, Missouri State

Aaron Dennis, Missouri State

Daan Jansen, Missouri State

Michal Bulak, Missouri State

Caleb Coots, Southern Illinois

Jacob Lucheon, Southern Illinois

Jeff Chen, Southern Illinois

Thomas Defay, Southern Illinois

Andrew Spencer, Southern Illinois

Matt Frey, Southern Illinois

Shaun Wolfe, Southern Illinois

Csaba Gercsak, Southern Illinois