OXFORD, Ohio – For the sixth year in a row the Miami University women’s tennis team won the Mid-American Conference regular season title following their 5-2 match victory over Bowling Green on Saturday afternoon. Miami (15-6, 7-1 MAC) finished the year with just one conference loss which was good for sole possession of first place.

Saturday afternoon also stood as Senior Day for the RedHawks, a fitting send off for seniors Nimisha Mohan and Christiana Raymond. In her four years with the Red and White, Mohan was a part of four MAC titles while Raymond contributed to three of those titles following her sophomore year transfer to Miami. Both seniors took part in the MAC Tournament Championship last year in addition to the team’s ensuing NCAA Tournament match against Stanford.

“I would like to thank both Christiana and Nimisha for their commitment and dedication to this program,” said head coach Anca Dumitrescu in a ceremony before the match. “Their impact on each one of us will truly live beyond their graduation. I hope that one day when my daughter will reach their age, that she can develop a similar heart and passion that these two ladies have brought to us all.”

In doubles action, Miami lost at No. 2 and No. 3 thus dropping the doubles point to Bowling Green. The No. 1 match went unfinished since the point had already been decided.

Miami bounced back with force in singles competition. Junior Alix Thurman finished first at No. 4 singles, handing in a 6-0, 6-3 victory. At No. 6 singles, sophomore Ana Rajkovic defeated her Falcon opponent, 6-1, 6-1. Playing at No. 5 singles, junior Christine Guerrazzi delivered a 6-0, 6-3 win to bring the match score to 3-1. Freshman Andreea Badileanu came through with the match point when she defeated her No. 2 opponent, 6-3, 6-3. Mohan turned in a No. 1 singles victory next, winning by a score of 6-2, 6-3. Raymond lost at No. 3 singles in a three-set bout, 6-3, 0-6, 6-1.

Miami will host the MAC Women’s Tennis Tournament next weekend. Action begins at the Hepburn Varsity Tennis Courts at 10 a.m. on Friday, April 24 and will wrap up with the MAC Championship at noon on Sunday, April 26. The winner of the MAC Tournament receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.



1.     Nimisha Mohan/Andreea Badileanu (MU) vs. Katie Brozovich/Nikki Chiricosta (BG), (unfinished)

2.     Emily Reuland/Drew Fillis (BG) def. Alix Thurman/Ana Rajkovic (MU), 8-2

3.     Hannah Drayton/Harley Hutchison (BG) def. Christiana Raymond/Ramona Costea (MU), 8-3



1.     Nimisha Mohan (MU) def. Nikki Chiricosta (BG), 6-2, 6-3

2.     Andreea Badileanu (MU) def. Emily Reuland (BG), 6-3, 6-3

3.     Katie Brozovich (BG) def. Christiana Raymond (MU), 6-3, 0-6, 6-1

4.     Alix Thurman (MU) def. Hannah Drayton (BG), 6-1, 6-1

5.     Christine Guerrazzi (MU) def. Drew Fillis (BG), 6-0, 6-3

6.     Ana Rajkovic (MU) def. Harley Hutchison (BG), 6-1, 6-1


Order of Doubles Finish: 2, 3

Order of Singles Finish: 4, 6, 5, 2, 1, 3