OXFORD, Ohio – The Miami University Athletic Department announced Thursday that seven student-athletes have earned its most prestigious annual awards and will be honored at halftime of the Miami versus Kent State football game on Saturday, Oct. 25.

Earning Male Athlete of the Year was Seth Varner (baseball), while the Female Athlete of the Year was Tori Paterra (track and field). Mason Krysinski (football) was named Male Scholar Athlete of the Year, while Christiana Raymond (tennis) earned Female Scholar Athlete of the Year honors. The Phillip Shriver Medal of Honor - which is presented to an outstanding graduating male and female student-athlete who have been members of a championship team during their careers, along with being leaders and epitomizing Love and Honor – has been awarded to Nimisha Mohan (tennis). The Darrell Hedric Award was earned by Dave Wing (cross country/track and field), while Sarah Mueller (field hockey) captured the Leann Grimes Davidge Award.

Varner’s (Batavia, Ohio) senior campaign was a testament to his work ethic. After posting a combined 3-3 record with a 6.22 ERA in only 76.2 innings over his first three seasons, the lefty had an extraordinary season in 2014. He started 15 games on the mound and went 7-3 with a 2.85 ERA and a school-record 123 strikeouts against only 25 walks in 104.1 innings pitched. He was even stingier against MAC foes, going 4-1 with a 2.06 ERA and 78 strikeouts (12 walks) in 65.2 innings. He pitched at least five innings in all 15 starts, lasting at least six frames in all but one, including each of his last 13 starts. Those totals earned the Batavia, Ohio native conference and national postseason recognition. In addition to being named First-Team All-MAC, he became the first Miami pitcher to win the MAC Pitcher of the Year award. Another honor came shortly thereafter as Varner was named a Louisville Slugger Third-Team All-American by the Collegiate Baseball Newspaper. Varner was drafted by the Cincinnati Reds in the 10th round of the Major League Baseball draft this past June.

Paterra (Elizabeth, Pa.) wrapped up her collegiate career in 2014 with the Red and White by finishing third in the javelin at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, where she unleashed a throw of 182-3 to earn First-Team All-America distinction for the second time in her career. She left MU holding the school record, with the Mid-American Conference Outdoor Championship with a throw of 183-5, which was also a MAC record.

Krysinski (Shelby Twp., Mich.) graduated with a degree in biochemistry and finished with a 3.96 GPA. He is a three-time Academic All-MAC selection. The fifth-year senior served as Miami’s kickoff specialist in 2013 and averaged 54.3 yards per kick and had six touchbacks on the season.

Raymond (Westerville, Ohio) owned a 3.87 grade-point average and graduated in May with a degree in kinesiology. She posted a 13-8 overall mark in match singles play during the 2014 campaign, including a 6-2 clip during MAC action to propel Miami to MAC regular-season and tournament titles. She was an Academic All-MAC selection as a senior and also earned MAC Female Scholar-Athlete of the week honors in 2014. On the season, she boasted an impressive 10-3 showing while playing at No. 3 singles. On the doubles court, the RedHawk senior notched a 12-7 record throughout the season including a strong 12-6 mark while playing at No. 3 doubles.

Mohan (Bangalore, India) overcame a shoulder injury in the fall to come back and lead the RedHawks to both the MAC regular-season and tournament championships this past spring. She was a two-time First-Team All-MAC selection and the 2013 MAC Tournament MVP. Mohan also was named to the MAC All-Tournament team in 2014 after helping Miami to its second straight NCAA Tournament berth. Former head coach Anca Dumitrescu described her as the hardest worker on the team, always encouraging the team to do more. She finished her career at Miami with a 72-41 record in singles matches and a 51-39 record in doubles play.

Wing (Naperville, Ill.) was voted the Ohio Division I Cross Country Runner of the Year by the All-Ohio Cross Country Coaches Association in 2013. He was Miami’s top finisher in all seven of last season’s meets, and earned MAC runner of the week honors five times for his outstanding cross country performances. Wing played a huge role in earning men’s cross country and track and field team the Hal Jasper Community Service award, he helped organize the team’s efforts for the Kramer Carnival, the holiday canned food drive and had the entire team participate in Swoop’s Stoop, the RedHawks’ charitable initiative that sees Miami varsity teams visit and spend time with children at the Cincinnati’s Children Hospital.

Mueller (Berlin, Germany) is a three-time All-MAC and Academic All-MAC selection, a CoSIDA Academic All-District At-Large selection, a NFHCA Scholar of Distinction (for having a GPA above 3.90), as well as a two-time NFHCA All-Region selection. This season Mueller played every minute in goal this year, making 125 saves while compiling a .758 save percentage. She led the RedHawks to their second straight Mid-American Conference Tournament championship and first ever berth in the NCAA Tournament. Not only did she lead Miami on the field, but she was also a leader on the campus. As president of the International Student Organization, she led it to the Miami University Organization of the Year award.

Miami's Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors are awarded to any student-athlete (freshman, sophomore, junior or senior) who has made significant athletic contributions to his/her respective team for that academic year. The Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the dYear Awards are bestowed upon a student-athlete of senior standing, who has excelled in the classroom as well as in the athletic arena.

The Shriver Medal of Honor is presented in honor of former Miami University President Dr. Phillip R. Shriver, who served in the position from 1965 to 1981, and requires the receipient to have won a championship in his or her time at Miami. Shriver’s support of the athletic programs, student-athletes, coaches and support staff went far beyond his stint as Miami University's 17th president. A fixture at Miami Athletics events, Dr. Shriver's legacy lives on through the development of athletics during his tenure as president and his unwavering support of the Red and White.

Noted as a top award for an upper class female student-athlete, the Leann Grimes Davidge Award is presented in honor of the former Miami women's tennis coach from 1979 to 1985, who tragically lost her life in an automobile accident. In six years as head coach, Davidge compiled an overall record of 93-50 and 25-1 in MAC action, while capturing four consecutive MAC Championships. This award is meant to keep her legacy alive through recognition of outstanding female student-athletes who have excelled in athletics, academics and leadership.

The Darrell Hedric Award is presented in honor of a 1955 Miami Alumnus and former men's basketball coach and associate athletic director emeritus, who has had a more-than 50-year association with Miami Athletics. He was a three-time MAC Coach of the Year and two-time Ohio Basketball Coach of the Year, leading Miami to four NCAA Tournament appearances in 14 years guiding the Red and White.