CHANDLER, Ariz. - The National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced Tuesday its 2013 Gladiator by SGI / NFHCA Collegiate National Academic Squad. A record-setting 14 Miami RedHawks earned a spot on the team, seniors Kaitlin Evans, Alyssa Logan, Jordan Long and Sarah Mueller, juniors Ali Froede, Gabby Goldach and Christina Heston, sophomores Bea Dechant, Jenna Mengle and Pauline Shih and freshmen Mariona Heras, Jenna Kapsar, Megan Moody and Kelsi White. This broke the record of 13 set just last year.

Evans, Logan, Long and Mueller are all four-time recipients of the award, while Froede is receiving it for the third straight time. The National Academic Squad recognizes those student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2013-14 academic year.

On Tuesday, the RedHawks received the SGI/NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award honor for the sixth consecutive season for having a collective GPA over 3.0 during the fall semester.

The RedHawks finished 12-10, winning the MAC Tournament for the second straight season. They advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history.