CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its Academic All-MAC Field Hockey Team on Wednesday. A record five Miami RedHawks were named to the squad as senior goalkeeper Sarah Mueller, senior forward Alyssa Logan, senior forward Emily Gruesser, junior back Ali Froede and sophomore midfielder Bea Dechant each earned the honor.

This is the third straight season Mueller has been named Academic All-MAC. She played every minute in goal this year, making 125 saves while compiling a .758 save percentage. Mueller was previously named First-Team All-MAC, as well NFHCA Second-Team All-West Region for her performance during her senior season. She was MAC Defensive Player of the Week three times in 2013.

This is Logan’s first MAC academic honor. She also was named to the All-MAC Second Team for the first time during her senior season. Logan played in all 22 games this year amassing eight goals and two assists to tie for second on the team with 18 points.

Gruesser earns a spot on the Academic All-MAC team for the second straight season. A four-time All-MAC honoree, she earned a spot on the First Team in 2013. Gruesser appeared in all 22 games and had seven goals and three assists for 17 points on the season.

Froede makes the academic team for the first time in her career. She was also named to the All-MAC First-Team, the NFHCA Second-Team All-West Region and was the MAC Tournament MVP this season. In 2013, she was named MAC Player of the Week three times, twice on defense and once for offense. Froede led Miami with nine goals and three assists in 22 games for a team-best 21 points.

This is the first Academic All-MAC honor for Dechant. She has been named to the All-MAC First Team each of the past two seasons, and was MAC Freshman of the Year in 2012. This season she appeared in all 22 games and had six goals and three assists for 15 points.


Senior back Jordan Long and junior midfielder Gabby Goldach were each named Academic Honorable Mention.


The RedHawks finished 12-10, winning the MAC Tournament for the second straight season. They advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history.