CLEVELAND – The Mid-American Conference announced its 2013 regular season field hockey awards on Thursday. The Miami RedHawks tied a team record with six players honored. Sophomore midfielder Bea Dechant, junior back Ali Froede, senior forward Emily Gruesser and senior goalkeeper Sarah Mueller were all named to the All-MAC First Team. Senior forward Alyssa Logan and freshman midfielder Carla Romagosa were each named Second-Team All-MAC.

This is the second straight season Dechant has been named to the All-MAC First Team. She was also named MAC Freshman of the Year last season. This season she has appeared in all 19 games and has four goals and three assists for 11 points.

Froede was named to an All-MAC team for the first time in her career. This year she has been awarded MAC Player of the Week three times, twice on offense and once for defense. She was honored last year as part of the MAC All-Tournament Team. Froede currently has nine goals and two assists in 19 games for a team-best 20 points.

Gruesser has been selected to an All-MAC team all four years of her career, with this being her first appearance on the First Team. She was named to the second team for the last three seasons. Gruesser has appeared in all 19 games and has seven goals and three assists for 17 points on the season.

This is Mueller’s second year in a row on the All-MAC First Team. She was also named to the All-MAC Second Team in 2010. She also has been MAC Defensive Player of the week three times this season. Mueller has played every minute in goal this season making 111 saves while compiling a .755 save percentage.

With her Second Team honor, Logan has received an All-MAC selection for the first time in her career. She has played in all 19 games this year amassing six goals and two assists for 14 points.

Romagosa has been named to the All-MAC Second-Team after her first season with the RedHawks. She leads the team with six assists and also has two goals for 13 points over 19 games this season.

The Miami University field hockey team looks for its first ever berth in the NCAA Tournament when it hosts the 2013 Mid-American Conference this weekend. The RedHawks are the third seed and will take on second seed Ohio in a semifinal game on Friday at 2 p.m. Top-seeded Kent State faces fourth seed Central Michigan in the other semifinal at 11:30 a.m. The championship game is on Saturday at 2 p.m. and will be broadcast live on Miami All-Access.

Freshman of the Year: Lexi Kavanaugh, Ball State

Player of the Year: Luli Gomez Teruel, Ohio

Coach of the Year: Kathleen Wiler, Kent State 

All-MAC First Team
Ali Froede, Miami
Luli Gomez Teruel, Ohio
Julia Hofmann, Kent State
Hannah Faulkner, Kent State
Rebecca Lee, Kent State
Bea Dechant, Miami
Emily Gruesser, Miami
Skylar VanNatta, CMU
Jessica Jue, Ohio
Simone Lazar, CMU
Sarah Mueller, Miami

All-MAC Second Team
Lexi Kavanaugh, Ball State
Hillary Lawless, Missouri State
Anne Middledorp, CMU
Alyssa Logan, Miami
Charlie Redhead, Missouri State
Carla Romagosa, Miami
Adele Sammons, Ohio
Bailey McKeon, CMU
Madison Thompson, Kent State
Bianca Velez, Ball State
Sadie Lynn Reynolds, CMU