CLEVELAND, Ohio - The top Mid-American Conference institutional awards were announced Thursday night (May 30) as Miami University (women's) and Kent State University (men's) were honored with the annual Fred Jacoby and David Reese All-Sports Awards.

Miami captured its fifth-ever Jacoby Trophy for having the best overall women's athletic teams during the 2012-13 academic year while Kent State won its fifth consecutive Reese Trophy, emblematic of success for men's teams.

"This is a tremendous honor for Miami Athletics and I want to thank our coaches and all our fantastic student-athletes,” Director of Athletics David Sayler said. “A lot of work by many people goes into winning an award such as this and it is gratifying for everyone involved with Miami University to win this all sports trophy."

In 2012-13, Miami’s women’s teams finished first in four sports— swimming and diving, tennis, field hockey and soccer, and won seven championships in those sports.

The RedHawks' previous Jacoby honors were in 1983, 1997, 2008 and 2009.

Points are awarded based on each school's finish, with the overall total divided by the number of sports sponsored by each school. An institution may count either indoor track and field or outdoor track and field but not both. The following sports honor a regular season champion and are awarded points based on their regular season conference winning percentage: baseball, basketball, field hockey, football, soccer, softball, tennis, volleyball and wrestling. The remaining sports are awarded points based on the MAC Championship/tournament finish: cross country, golf, swimming and diving, indoor track and field, outdoor track and field, and gymnastics.

The women's trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner Fred Jacoby. Jacoby was the MAC Commissioner from 1971-82 and is credited with incorporating women's athletics into the league's structure. The men's trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner David E. Reese. Reese was the first-ever MAC Commissioner and served the league from its inception in 1946 until 1964.



2013       Miami 10.0, Central Michigan 9.39

2012       Toledo 9.27, Central Michigan 9.06

2011       Western Michigan 9.33, Central Michigan 9.1

2010       Kent State 10.25, Miami 9.72

2009       Miami 9.78, Kent State 8.61

2008       Miami 9.66, Ohio 9.50

2007       Ohio 9.94, Bowling Green 7.97

2006       Western Michigan 10.3, Kent State 9.17

2005       Kent State 10.7, Western Michigan 8.38

2004       Kent State 10.72, Central Michigan 9.44

2003       Ball State 66, Kent State 63

2002       Ball State 71.5, Kent State 59

2001       Ball State 69, Kent State 68.5

2000       Ball State 65.5, Kent State 64

1999       Kent State 64, Northern Illinois 62.5

1998       Ball State 60.5, Kent State 60

1997       Miami 47.5, Kent State 47.5

1996       Kent State 47.5, Miami 46.5

1995       Ohio 49, Central Michigan 44-Western Michigan 44

1994       Bowling Green 46, Ball State 45.5

1993       Bowling Green 55, Miami 46

1992       Bowling Green 42, Miami 41

1991       Central Michigan 47, Miami 42.5

1990       Central Michigan 43.5, Eastern Michigan 41.5-Miami 41.5

1989       Kent State 40, Western Michigan 39.5

1988       Bowling Green 49, Eastern Michigan 39

1987       Western Michigan 49, Central Michigan 41.5

1986       Western Michigan 50.5, Bowling Green 46

1985       Western Michigan 52.5, Bowling Green 47-Central Michigan 47

1984       Western Michigan 51.5, Central Michigan 46

1983       Miami 52, Bowling Green 46