OXFORD, Ohio -- Indiana plated nine runs during the middle innings Tuesday, breaking open a close game, for an 11-2 victory over Miami at McKie Field. The game was the 2013 home opener for the RedHawks.

Ryan Elble had a career-high three hits for Miami (7-9), while Kevin Bower and Scott Slappey added two hits apiece in the loss.

More information will be available shortly.

Indiana, 14-3 and ranked 22nd by Baseball America, capitalized on a leadoff single and failed pickoff attempt to open a 1-0 lead in the third. The Hoosiers added two more runs in the fourth when the first two batters were walked on five pitches. They both moved up 90 feet on a wild pitch, then scored on a groundout and single, respectively.

Another walk, one of nine on the day issued by RedHawk pitchers, led to three more runs in the fifth. With one out, four straight pitches out of the zone ended the day for starter Brian Thene. After two more walks, the second intentional, a bases-loaded double to left center pushed the lead to 6-0.

Miami tried to answer in the bottom of the frame. With one out, Alex Johnson and Bower singled. Tommy Riccardi, who came in as a pinch runner in the second, doubled just over third base for his first career hit and run batted in. Bower came in a couple pitches later when a pickoff attempt at second by the catcher got away from the shortstop.

But Indiana erupted for four runs on three hits in the sixth and added a solo home run in the eighth for the final margin.

Thene took the loss to fall to 1-1, allowing four runs (three earned) and three hits in 4.1 innings. He walked four, but struck out a career-high five batters.

Indiana starter Will Coursen-Carr did not allow a run, but gave up five hits and a walk before being pulled with two outs in the fourth. Scott Effross, the third of five Hoosiers to take the mound, was most effective, throwing 2.1 scoreless innings. He allowed two hits and two walks, while striking out three to improve to 3-0.

The same teams meet again tomorrow afternoon in Bloomington at 4 p.m. The game will be the inaugural contest at Indiana's new Bart Kaufman Field.