GENEVA, Ohio—After three days of competition, Miami’s women’s swimming and diving team finishes second at the Mid-American Conference Championships held at the SPIRE Institute in Geneva, Ohio. Akron finished first, claiming their first MAC Championship in their program’s history.

Miami took second-place, earning 496 team points, behind Akron who won with 574 total points. Bowling Green took third with 476 points. Eastern Michigan finished fourth with 469 points. Buffalo (446 points), Ohio (362 points), Toledo (348 points) and Ball State (334 points) rounded out the final team rankings.

“The girls did a great job,” said head coach Mark Davis, “They came back today and were very energetic… it was a very exciting meet here at the end.”

Junior Stephanie Pearce kicked off the evening for the RedHawks with a 16:47.32 time in the 1650 freestyle, which was good enough for a fourth-place finish. Sophomore Kelly Rogers (16:59.64), junior Courtney Collett (17:00.46) and Caitlin Fujan (17:05.70) also earned points for the RedHawks with twelfth, fourteenth and sixteenth-place finishes, respectively.

Senior Brianna Fujan took tenth-place in the 200 backstroke, leading Miami with a time of 2:00.92. Sophomore Emma Szczupakiewicz (2:01.52) and junior Katie Bootsma (2:02.02) took thirteenth and fourteenth in the event.

Senior Nikki Craft finished second-place in the three-meter diving event with 338.85 points. It was Miami’s top individual performance of the day.

In the 100 freestyle, freshman Elise Campbell finished with a time of 50.58 and a sixth-place finish. Junior Annie Marquiss finished seventh with a time of 50.85, earning 12 points towards the team point totals. Sophomore Natalie Rohr took twelfth with a time of 51.12.

Freshman Stephanie LeMire swam to a third-place finish in the 200 breaststroke. She had a 2:13.35 time. Senior Nicole Wagner took eighth with a 2:19.35 time.

Freshman Kathleen Dodson took sixth-place in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:03.53. Szczupakiewicz took twelfth (2:04.71).

The 400 freestyle relay team of Campbell, Rohr, Marquiss and senior Cynthia Donovan took third-place with a time of 3:22.54 to conclude the meet.

“It was really exciting to see the girls really step up and compete at the end,” said Davis.

The NCAA Zone C Diving Regional Meet begins Thursday, Mar. 13 in Columbus, Ohio. The NCAA Division I Women’s Championship will take place in Minneapolis, Minn. From Thursday, Mar. 20 through Saturday, Mar. 22.


Awards - 2014 All-MAC Teams and Specialty Awards.

Most Outstanding Swimmer: Brittney Kuras, Buffalo

Swimming Coach of the Year: Brian Peresie, Akron

Most Outstanding Diver: Danielle Hulvey, Eastern Michigan

Diving Coach of the Year: Russ Decker, Ohio

Most Outstanding Senior: Brittney Kuras, Buffalo


All-MAC First Team

Kelsey Ferrante, Akron

Hannah Raspopovich, Akron

Bridgette Ruehl, Ball State

Haley Richer, Ball State

Victoria Griffin, Bowling Green

Jessica Powers, Buffalo

Brittney Kuras, Buffalo

Spencer Rodriguez, Buffalo

Danielle Hulvey, Eastern Michigan

Jessie Godlewski, Eastern Michigan

Stephanie LeMire, Miami

Addy Ferguson, Ohio

Morgan Srail, Ohio

Christina Noens, Toledo

Beth Rogers, Toledo


All-MAC Second Team

Ashley Drazkowski, Akron

Erin Seiler, Akron

Laura Savariau, Akron

Emily Wisolek, Ball State

Mallory Miles, Ball State

Daniela Carrillo, Bowling Green

Emily Waller, Bowling Green

Joelle Scheps, Bowling Green

Jordan Bullock, Bowling Geen

Taylor Steffl, Buffalo

Monica Dorszewski, Eastern Michigan

Stephanie Pearce, Miami

Nikki Craft, Miami

Aubrey Kluth, Miami

Elise Campbell, Miami

Laurin Williams, Ohio

Haley Clark, Ohio