OXFORD, Ohio—Miami University’s synchronized skating teams gathered with family and friends Saturday night at Shriver Center to celebrate the 2012-13 season at the annual postseason banquet.

Twelve RedHawk skaters received awards for the banquet. Each team had a skater named outstanding skater, most improved skater and also awarded a spirit award. The senior and collegiate teams also had awardees for rookie of the year and outstanding senior.

Senior Taylor Walker (Orange, Calif./El Modena) was the lone multiple award winner, capturing both the senior team’s Thomas J. Fisher Outstanding Skater—the program’s most prestigious award—and Senior of the Year awards. Walker is a four-year member of the senior team and was a four-year letterwinner for the RedHawks, serving as team co-captain this season.

Senior Kyleigh Gaff (Lynnfield, Mass./Lynnfield) was recognized with the senior team’s Spirit Award. Freshman Cristy Plahy (Fullerton, Calif./Troy) earned the senior team’s Most Improved Skater Award, while freshman Alana Christie (Minneapolis, Minn./Academy of Holy Angels) was the senior team’s Rookie of the Year. Plahy and Christie were two of four freshmen to skate on the RedHawks’ senior team in 2012-13.

Junior Devan Vossekuil (Waupun, Wis./Waupun Area) was tabbed the collegiate team’s Outstanding Skater. Senior Bianca Pomponio (Livonia, Mich./Mercy) was named the collegiate team’s Senior of the Year, while junior Jessica Anderson (Mentor, Ohio/Mentor) earned Most Improved Skater and freshman Sennett Cooke (Pelham, N.Y./Pelham Memorial) was the Rookie of the Year. Sophomore Erin D’Amato (Wausau, Wis./Wausau West) captured the collegiate team’s Spirit Award.

For the junior team, sophomore Jennifer Stewart (Kansas City, Mo./St. Pius X) was named Outstanding Skater, while freshman Alexandra Gerday (Draper, Utah/Lone Peak) was its Most Improved Skater and freshman Alexis Kinney (Vacaville, Calif./Will C. Wood) earned the Spirit Award.

The RedHawk senior team earned a berth in the ISU World Championships after finishing second at the U.S. National Championships. They captured the Professional Figure Skaters Association Award for Best Performance at the National Championships for the second straight year. Miami placed eighth at the World Championships in April.

Miami’s collegiate team capped off its second straight undefeated season by winning its ninth consecutive national title in March. The RedHawks have won 11 straight events dating back to the start of the 2010-11 season.

The junior team had one of its strongest seasons in program history and placed first at the Midwestern Championships. The RedHawks finished sixth at the U.S. National Championships.

Thomas J. Fisher Outstanding Skater – Taylor Walker
Senior of the Year – Taylor Walker
Senior Spirit Award – Kyleigh Gaff
Senior Most Improved Skater – Cristy Plahy
Senior Rookie of the Year – Alana Christie
Collegiate Outstanding Skater – Devan Vossekuil
Collegiate Senior of the Year – Bianca Pomponio
Collegiate Spirit Award – Erin D’Amato
Collegiate Most Improved Skater – Jessica Anderson
Collegiate Rookie of the Year – Sennett Cooke
Junior Outstanding Skater – Jennifer Stewart
Junior Spirit Award – Alexis Kinney
Junior Most Improved Skater – Alexandra Gerday